Riso Workshop

Today I had my first riso workshop. I’ve always wanted to try it and was excited to finally get on the signup workshop before it filled up.

Since a lot of the imagery I’m currently working on is quite sparse so far, I decided to draw something new, but still in keeping with my project ideas and imagery, in order to make full use of the printer’s capabilities. I was keen to play with texture and gradient since I use such techniques in a lot of my work.

The final prints did not turn out exactly how I expected, but I’m pleased with the result nevertheless. My personal aversion to neon colours means the outcome is more garish than I would usually choose, though it was fun to see how the process works and learn what I can use it for. I’d definitely like to try more riso prints this year, particularly with trying more selective colours and better resolved compositions.

Leave a Reply

