End of Level 5 Reflection

I can’t believe I’ve finished second year! It seems like only a couple of months ago that I was panicking about our work ‘really counting’ towards something, and now I’m awaiting my third and final mark.

I’m feeling cautiously optimistic about the outcome of my final project, since my critique feedback was almost completely positive. I also feel I answered all my asked questions really well and assertively, and portrayed the high quantity and quality that went into my work for this unit. I feel as if I’m well on my way to perfecting and productive and organised creative process which should serve my well as I enter the most intense year of university.

I’m really keen to complete my website and create business cards, though I do have some concerns…

I’d like to get a head-start on my website and business cards branding this summer, as well as preparing for my dissertation. Though I’m hesitant to have to pick a certain ‘look’ to define my particular style since I feel it’s always changing so much, I believe my work is developing a certain sense of unity and becoming more recognisable as my particular voice. Luckily I haven’t come across anyone else whose style looks a lot like my work which has given me confidence that I am doing something different and individual without second-guessing my ideas or concerning myself with what other practitioners are doing.

Following on from this, the ‘professional practice’ unit also requires me to really think about what I want to do after graduation. Previously I have always imagined going into the creative industry; however, I felt that I did not have a defined, strong or unique enough ‘style’ to be an illustrator – freelance or otherwise. My confidence in my capabilities has grown over the past 2 years as my experience has grown – especially with my newfound skills in animation – so I am starting to shy away from the illustration pathway much less. I still have a long way to go in terms of making work with a professional finish and standard, and I hope to learn lots of skills in this area next year, whether or not I choose to continue illustrating.

I think the most helpful steps for myself is to keep producing work I enjoy and continue to check in with myself often to document my thoughts and concerns. I’ve been working on reducing my skill levels associated with my work, which has been greatly aided when I’m producing work that I’m passionate about.

Fingers crossed that my results show what I’ve achieved!

Leave a Reply

