Marble Statues Inspiration

Throughout the duration of this project I had seemed to somehow fail to make the basic connection between one of my characters who is made of marble, and thinking of how to visually represent this… marble statues. I can’t believe I hadn’t thought of using images of Renaissance sculptures, such as Michelangelo’s ‘David’, as inspiration for character design before, but I’m definitely going to make up for lost time now. I was struggling to make earlier drawings of my bald marble character look more loveable and less severe, whilst still keeping the ‘hard exterior’ look so these sculptures’ faces are a great help. The era in which these were made is reflected through their particular standard facial features such as the large, angular nose and pursed lips shape – which happens to be my go-to approach to imagined portraits, born from my love of Pre-Raphaelite paintings.

Whilst searching for various marble forms I also came across sculptures which have decayed over time, which is another major breakthrough for the end of my sequence – wherein the marble character breaks apart. Though the last few pages have already been planned well, the below images are a great help in ensuring the details of broken marble appear more realistic and tactile.

Leave a Reply

