Research – ‘The Pattern Base’

The Pattern Base by Kristi O’Meara is a fantastic book which documents a variety of contemporary pattern trends and styles. It was really interesting to get a feel for what is already out there, as I found myself almost dissatisfied that I didn’t see any patterns that I was completely drawn to, out of a lack of perhaps my style of composition, linework or colouring.

Surprisingly I could not find the rest of the patterns online, so instead have my phone photos for reference. It was interesting to see how much you miss if you only search for images online, and it was satisfying to see proof that my wider reading is beneficial in broadening my research.

Leave a Reply

