Editorial Brief – Decorative

My third and final brief was the decorative brief for which I chose the article ‘Toys aimed at girls ‘steering women away from science careers‘. This is my favourite type of editorial illustration as it allows you to use whichever style you like to make something ‘pretty’ without too much meaning behind it.

To try something new, I used simple collage with coloured sugar paper. It was really quick to create the design as I mostly made it up as I cut out shapes and I didn’t think the overall look needed much decorating

FlorenceCrowcroft_DecorativeThe only thing that I wasn’t happy with for my outcome is the CMYK colour settings which was required for the brief that I changed on Photoshop. I wasn’t previously aware of the affect it would have on the colours of my image, and was a big learning curve for me.

FlorenceCrowcroft_Decorative

 

Leave a Reply

