Artist Research – David Gentleman

I found the book ‘Coastline’ by David Gentleman in the library and was inspired. I love his expressive style of illustrations, especially those of which are based on the beach and coast.

 

I wanted to highlight these particular page spreads as I thought they had a clever composition which both contrasts and compliments the juxtaposed scenes of town and cliffs. I’m not sure if they were intentionally meant to go together, but they work really well as an overall image. The combination of ink and watercolour makes a really nice effect, and I’m definitely going to try this out further.

I hope that one day I could be able to create illustrations as effortlessly and effective as these!

Leave a Reply

