Marwell Zoo

Processed with VSCOcam with m3 presetMarwell Wildlife Zoo in Winchester was the first trip with my classmates and first chance to kick-off our observational drawings practice.

I really enjoyed getting the chance to see some animals in person that I had only previously seen in pictures, due to my limited size zoo at home. I tried to do most of my drawings straight from life, but I also took photos and videos of the moving animals in order to work into my weaker drawings at home, but still capture the liveliness of the creatures as best I can.

The prospect of doing observational drawings was initially intimating as I hadn’t done so in a long time, and I knew I’d quickly be surrounded by talented drawers. Luckily, the people around me appeared to be as cautious as I was and we quickly got over our concerns.

Sketchbooks-9

 

Though we were all taken aback by the prospect of not using any fineliner or biro pens throughout this project, in hindsight I am glad for this as it’s pushed me to play around much more with alternative combinations and applications of media. I played around with using different media to create fur and feathers.

 

Leave a Reply

